News & Insights

Ravenscroft compliance team shortlisted for international award

Ravenscroft's compliance team has been shortlisted for Best Compliance Team at the International Compliance Association Compliance Awards.

The awards, which are now in their 20th year, recognise the outstanding achievements, innovation and teamwork in financial crime and regulatory compliance.

Head of compliance in Guernsey, Guy Hardill, said how great it was for the efforts of the team, who are based in Guernsey and Jersey, to be independently recognised.

‘The team has had a busy couple of years as Ravenscroft has continued its organic expansion and also acquired businesses in Guernsey, Isle of Man and the UK. On top of this there has been the challenge of multiple lockdowns across our four jurisdictions which have all required additional compliance oversight. For the team to be shortlisted amongst hundreds of submissions is testament to the hard work they’ve put in,’ he said.

During the 2020 lockdown, the team dealt with a record number of new accounts while contending with increased regulatory pressures, staff illnesses (including major operations for two of the team), policy reviews, and routine onsite visits from both Channel Island regulators. The team continued face-to-face training for existing staff – a practice favoured for its increased efficiency and personal interaction – and also welcomed two new members to the compliance team, one in Guernsey who joined days before the first lockdown and the other in Jersey during the ongoing work from home requirement.

Mr Hardill explained that, over the last 18 months, the team of six had rarely been able to operate at full capacity, which showed just how willing they were to go above and beyond.

The awards are hosted by the ICA, the leading professional body for the global regulatory and financial crime compliance community, and entries are assessed by a panel of judges according to five criteria – spirit, collaboration, courage, outcome and adoption – each of which is awarded a score out of 10. The winners will be announced on 19th May at The Oval in London.